Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Pease AFB C-130 rescue squadron

I reckon this is the place for this question. If not, Casey, just put it where it belongs. Anyway, way back in 1970, I graduated tech school with a guy named Stoddard, who I think, went to Rescue Herks , at Pease AFB, NH. He was from new hampshire to begin with. Am I correct in the base and so on??? Is it still active???? I am gonna be up in that area in a few months and would like to look him up, if he is still in that area. Anything anybody can tell me would be appreciated. thanks

giz

Giz,

Yep, it was either the 54th or 53rd ARRS (????). I remember they had a brand new HC-130N 69-5820 (overall ARRS grey) on the ramp, and she was factory fresh without a speck of "work dirt" on her. If my memory serves me correctly, the sq. didn't last all that long up there. Maybe a few years or so, and 5820 went on to the 676th ARRS at Woodbridge in the UK where she spent most if her future life. I wonder where she is now ?? At the time, Pease was home to the509th BW(M) with FB-111's and 135's. Pease was closed during the first round of BRAC chops and was turned into Pease Industrial Trade Port with the NH ANG maintaining a 135R op there.

Regards
    Frank C.

Quote Originally Posted by Thud105 View Post
    I wonder where she is now ?? Regards
    Frank C.
    Frank,
    According to Lars' book, 69-5820 is now a gray MC-130P with the 9th SOS at Eglin AFB, FL.
    Don R.
    I'm having one of those days when my middle finger is answering every question.

Went to Dover AFB after Clark and when we junked out the C-133's in 1970, I got to pick my next base, Rescue at Pease or Hill AFB Ut. Sure glad I chose Hill. Best assignment of my career as far as a fun place to be...shooting, sking, fishing and hunting, dune buggining, mountain camping... oh yes and the Rescue 130's ,Utah has it all. Bill

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by DC10FE View Post
    Frank,