Got my Wings

Well, it's a few days late, but better late than never right?

Got those shiny things put on Sep 22 upon completion of the Basic Loadmaster course at the Career Enlisted Aviator Center of Excellence, Lackland AFB. I'd be lying if I said I wasn't prouder than hell of those things. :) And yes, I graduated a day early in ABU's so I could chamber the next day (class grad date) and not screw up my training dates. Ended up having a week holding over at Lackland anyway. Who knew? :rolleyes:

Anyone on Facebook can add the "BLM - Basic Loadmaster" page and see pictures of many of the recent classes' graduations.

Here's a couple of mine. Let's just say Momma made sure they stuck! :D

Correct to a point.

Basic : Aircrew member awarded temporaly 3 level upon completion awarding courses and are permently awarded after successfully completing IQT

Senior: Completed 7 years of service and 1300 HRS or have 2,000Hrs 72 PAID months of operational flying duty and have obtained 5 skill level.

Chief: After completion of 15years of aviation service and 2300 HRS or have 3000HRS or 144 PAID months of operational flying duty and have obtained 7 skill level.

IAW AFI 11-402

Yup, thast is how it was back in the 'Nam era,,,,,,,,,I think it took ten combat mission for permanent award, if you hadn't made the three years first. Anybodfy know how many missions it took back then to get an air medal???????????? Seemed like fightter pukes got one a week and trash haulers often flew the same mission number for days if not weeks, no matter how many sorties.. Different standards I guess......

gizzard, I got two Air Medals for flying 40 Blind Bat missions in 1968. I also got wings but not sure how they were awarded. I was only on a flight crew for 40 missions and then back to the flightline at Naha!!

Ken